Updated 6/8/12 - Notice of Public Zoning Hearing - June 21, 2012


The new Franklin Township Zoning Resolution is available to view online.

Franklin Township established a new Zoning Resolution Effective January 8, 2010. You may access the various parts by following the links on the PDF or use our detailed bookmarks to search the document more efficiently. Please click here for a zoning map. If you discover typographical errors in the online documents, please contact the Township Administrator at 330-673-2194 from 1 to 4 pm, or email frklntwp@neo.rr.com.

Zoning Inspector
Sam Abell – 330-678-0888

The Franklin Township Zoning Inspector is responsible for issuing zoning certificates for signs, structures, additions and buildings that conform to the Franklin Township Zoning Resolution. The Zoning Inspector also issues zoning use certificates for uses permitted by the Zoning Resolution and conditional use certificates that have been approved by the Board of Zoning Appeals. Signs, structures, additions, buildings and uses not permitted by the Zoning Resolution may be appealed to the Board of Zoning Appeals.

The Zoning Inspector is also responsible for investigating alleged violations of the Zoning Resolution, representing Franklin Township on the Portage County Regional Planning Board and working with the Portage County Prosecutor’s Office regarding litigation associated with zoning. 

The Franklin Township Zoning Resolution which details the zoning regulations is available at the town hall for $13. Maps depicting the zoning districts are available free of charge.

Board of Zoning Appeals (Meets monthly. Call Town Hall for exact dates.) 
The Board of Zoning Appeals is responsible for hearing and deciding applications for variances to the Franklin Township Zoning Resolution. In granting a variance, the Board may impose such conditions as it may deem necessary to protect the public health, safety, and morals and in furtherance of the purposes and intent of the Zoning Resolution. The Board is also empowered to grant conditional zoning certificates for the use of land, buildings or other structures.

The Board consists of five Franklin Township residents appointed by the Township Trustees. 

Meetings are held at 7:00 p.m. on the second floor of the Franklin Township Hall, 218 Gougler. The Board generally meets on the first Monday of each month, if there are applications submitted for a variance or conditional use certificate. Contact the town hall to verify meeting dates.

Current Board Members are:

Margaret Chandler

Term Exp. 02/19/13


David Hansford

Term Exp. 02/19/14


James Henry

Term Exp. 02/19/15


David Sommers; Chairman

Term Exp. 02/19/16


Dustin Laflin

Term Exp. 02/19/16


Shawn Martin; alternate

Term Exp. 02/19/15


Glenn Russell; alternate

Term Exp. 02/19/16


Zoning Commission (Meets as needed)
The Zoning Commission is responsible for reviewing and analyzing proposed changes to the Zoning Resolution or Zoning Districts and recommending approval or denial of such changes to the Franklin Township Board of Trustees. The Zoning Commission follows a defined process that ensures the involvement of the public and the appropriate governmental agencies. 

The Board consists of five Franklin Township residents appointed by the Township Trustees. The Zoning Commission meets on an as needed basis.

Current Board members are:

Judy Spencer; Chairman

Term Exp. 02/19/13


John Gunyula

Term Exp. 02/19/15


Douglas Hiestand

Term Exp. 02/19/15


Jim L. Jackson

Term Exp. 02/19/14


Robert Paoloni;

Term Exp. 02/19/16


If you have any questions or comments about this site or the contents with in, please e-mail the webmaster.   
© Copyright Franklin Township, Ohio 2006